2014 Awards Ceremony – May 14, 2014

The Biology Undergraduate Program, Department of Environmental Science & Policy, and the School of Systems Biology will be hosting an Awards Ceremony for their students on May 14, 2014 at 10:00am at Dewberry Hall, Johnson Center.

A brunch buffet will be served.  Please RSVP to Susan Cheselka asap.


Update: The ceremony was a success, and the day was a happy one for the undergraduate and graduates who were recognized.  See below for the list of award recipients.


Outstanding Undergraduate in Conservation
Kathy Nguyen

Outstanding Undergraduate in Environmental Health
Haley Mustone

Outstanding Undergraduate in Ecological Science
Jessica Mitchum
Danielle Rigley

Best Master’s Thesis Award
Lauren Walsh Kinne

Best Doctor of Philosophy Dissertation Award
Jennifer Lynn Thornhill

Exceptional Graduate Teaching Assistant in Environmental Science & Policy
Chelsie Romulo
Chris Ruck

Francis D. Heliotis Memorial Graduate Research Award
Laurie K. Allen
Kristyn Moskey

Important Dates for Students

SPRING 2020 Semester (modified due to COVID-19)

MLK Day (university closed): Jan 20

First day of classes: Jan 21

Spring Break (extended): Mar 9-20

Dissertation/Thesis Deadline: May 8

Last day of classes: May 11

Reading Day(s): May 12

Final Exam Period: May 13-20

University Commencement: May 22 (tentative)

COVID-19 DATE CHANGES – For the complete modified spring calendar, see https://registrar.gmu.edu/calendars/spring-2020/ and for latest COVID-19 updates, see: https://www2.gmu.edu/coronavirus