Double ESP faculty teaching award winners!

The Department of Environmental Science & Policy  is pleased to announce that Dr. Larry Rockwood has won the 2014 David J. King Teaching Award, and Dr. Rebecca Forkner has won one of only eight 2014 University Teaching Excellence Awards. Congratulations to them both!

The David J. King Teaching Award is given annually to a faculty member who has made significant, long-term contributions to the overall educational excellence of the university. The winner will be honored concurrent with the spring celebration of Teaching Excellence Awards and will receive a stipend. Please help us identify faculty who should be considered for this recognition.

Outstanding teaching is an integral part of Mason’s mission and is deserving of significant recognition. The Teaching Excellence Awards are both institutional recognition and a monetary acknowledgement of the significant work that faculty members devote to course planning and preparation; curriculum development; and innovative teaching, advising, and undergraduate and graduate mentoring. We urge you to take this opportunity to recognize teaching excellence at Mason; please nominate someone you view as an outstanding educator for this honor.

View the full award announcement at

Important Dates for Students

SPRING 2020 Semester (modified due to COVID-19)

MLK Day (university closed): Jan 20

First day of classes: Jan 21

Spring Break (extended): Mar 9-20

Dissertation/Thesis Deadline: May 8

Last day of classes: May 11

Reading Day(s): May 12

Final Exam Period: May 13-20

University Commencement: May 22 (tentative)

COVID-19 DATE CHANGES – For the complete modified spring calendar, see and for latest COVID-19 updates, see: