ESP faculty and students win a host of awards and accolades in spring 2017

The Department of Environmental Science and Policy is excited and proud to announce the faculty and students who have won awards and accolades this spring semester.  Congratulations to all of them!


2017 Career Connection Faculty Award

More info:

Dr. Dann  Sklarew


2017 Teacher of Distinction 

For a full list of winners, visit:

Dr. Changwoo Ahn


Jack Wood Award for Town Gown Relations

More info:

Dr. Dann Sklarew


Fulbright Award

Kristina van Dexter


Cosmos Club Foundation Scholarships 

Advait Jukar

Dana McCoskey

Karoline Oldham

Elly Roland

Chelsie Romulo


Earth Optimism Summit Scholarship

Samantha Oester


The 3rd Annual Mason Water Research Symposium

Elizabeth Tedder Wood (Dr. Randy McBride) – Best Poster 

*Tanya Traegar (Dr. Kim de Mutsert) – Best Presentation

Cindy Adams (Dr. Robert Jonas) – Most Real-World Applicable Research

Casey Pehrson (Dr. Kim de Mutsert) – Runner Up


Science Slam Final (GrandSlam)

Marieke Kester Jones


Science Slam Prelims

Elizabeth Tedder Wood (Dr. Randy McBride) – First Place

Marieke Kester Jones (Dr. Larry Rockwood and Dr. Nucharin Songsasen) – Second Place


Atlantic Estuarine Research Society Conference

*Sammie Alexander (Dr. Kim de Mutsert) – Best Poster Presentation


Mason’s 3 Minute Thesis (3MT™) competition

Chelsie Romulo (Dr. Michael Gilmore and Dr. Francisco Dallmeier)- First Place

Rachel Golden Kroner (Dr. Tom Lovejoy) – Second Place

Important Dates for Students

SPRING 2020 Semester (modified due to COVID-19)

MLK Day (university closed): Jan 20

First day of classes: Jan 21

Spring Break (extended): Mar 9-20

Dissertation/Thesis Deadline: May 8

Last day of classes: May 11

Reading Day(s): May 12

Final Exam Period: May 13-20

University Commencement: May 22 (tentative)

COVID-19 DATE CHANGES – For the complete modified spring calendar, see and for latest COVID-19 updates, see: