Faculty Announcements


December 2017

Prof. Kim de Mutsert has accepted the invitation by the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Ecological Modelling to join the Ecological Modelling editorial board. Ecological Modelling is one of the top journals in her field. The journal is concerned with the use of mathematical models and systems analysis for the description of ecological processes and for the sustainable management of resources.

June 2017

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was the Chair of the Scientific Committee/Conservation Committee Working Group for the International Whaling Commission Scientific Committee meeting held in Bled, Slovenia.

April 2017

Prof. Younsung Kim was invited to the “Workshop on Adapting Climate Change: Actions, Implementations, and Outcomes” held at the University of Notre Dame from April 28-May 1, 2017. She presented her research on “Climate Adaptation for Coastal Communities: Information Provision as a Policy Tool.”

March 2017

Prof. Younsung Kim presented her paper on Assessing Firms’ Support for Mandatory Climate Regulations: The Role of Organizational Resources & Capabilities” at the 78th Annual Meeting of American Society for Public Administration on March 20, 2017 in Atlanta, Georgia.

February 2017

Prof. Chris Parsons was appointed to the IUCN Commission on Ecosystem Management.


December 2016

Prof. Esther Peters gave a 45-minute invited presentation at the 2016 Concurrent Annual Meeting of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists and the American Society for Veterinary Clinical Pathology on December 4, 2016, at the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans, Louisiana. The title of her talk was “Coral cut-ups: Forty years of investigating coral health,” and it was presented in Concurrent Session I: Fish and Aquatic Invertebrate Pathology, along with presentations on mollusc and crustacean diseases, interpretation of toxicologic histopathology, and diseases in US farm-raised catfish.

November 2016

Prof. Dann Sklarew presented two invited lectures at the Higher School of Economics in Perm, Russia, on the topics of “incorporating sustainability into business practices” and “sustainable business practices for the triple bottom line,” both organized by the International Research and Exchanges Board (IREX).

October 2016

Profs. Dann Sklarew, R. Chris Jones, and Cynthia Smith presented “Potomac River restoration and watershed sustainability” to the Xinjiang Environmental Protection Study Group.

September 2016

Prof. Dann Sklarew was awarded $20,000 from the Dominion Higher Education Partnership, along with fellow Mason professors Paul Houser and Viviana Maggioni for their project entitled, “Green Roof on Parking Deck: Designed for Sustainability.”

June 2016

Prof. Ingrid Visseren-Hamakers has been selected to be a Coordinating Lead Author of the IPBES global assessment on biodiversity and ecosystem services. She will be co-leading chapter 6 on opportunities for decision-makers at all levels of governance. She was nominated by the U.S. government, whose nomination was supported by the Dutch government. The report will be written by a team of about 120 authors from around the world over the next few years. The final report is due in 2019.

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was the co-chair of the Environmental Concerns Sub-Committee during the International Whaling Commission Scientific Committee meeting held in Bled, Slovenia.

The automobile racing association of Canada awarded Prof. Lee Talbot their first annual Spirit of Vintage Racing award as their highest tribute for career racing achievements. And he’s not even Canadian!

April 2016

Professor E. Chris Parsons was appointed the Membership Chair and a Board Member of the Society for Marine Mammalogy.


August 2015

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was the a member of the Executive Committee, Organizing Committee and Scientific Committee of the 27th International Congress for Conservation Biology and 4th European Congress for Conservation Biology (2-7 August 2015, Montpellier, France) – the largest academic conference on conservation science ever held.

May 2015

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was the co-chair of the Environmental Concerns Sub-Committee during the International Whaling Commission Scientific Committee meeting held in San Diego, California.

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was a Fellow of the newly chartered Royal Society for Biology.

Professor Esther Peters gave a presentation, “Caribbean Acroporid Tissue Loss: Toward a New Paradigm of Coral Disease,” at the 37th Scientific Meeting of the Association of Marine Laboratories of the Caribbean, Curacao, May 18-22. She also presented “Can Caribbean Staghorn and Elkhorn Coral Populations Be Restored?” for the Coral Restoration Foundation Bonaire and CIEE Research Station, Bonaire, on May 26.


December 2014

Professor E. Chris Parsons was elected as one of the first Fellows of the Marine Biological Association.

August 2014

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was Chair of the 3rd International Marine Conservation Congress (IMCC3, 14-18 August) held in Glasgow, Scotland. The IMCC meetings are the largest international academic conferences on marine conservation science. 

May 2014

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was the co-chair of the Environmental Concerns Sub-Committee during the International Whaling Commission Scientific Committee meeting held in Bled, Slovenia.


December 2013

Prof. E. Chris Parsons convened the workshop “Top twenty research questions of global importance for cetacean conservation” and was co-convenor of the workshop “Integrating marine mammal conservation: human dimensions and the practitioner” at the 20th Biennial Conference of the Society for Marine Mammalogy / The 2nd International Marine Conservation Think Tank in Dunedin, New Zealand. In addition, ESP graduate student Ashley Sitar and Prof. E. Chris Parsons convened the workshop “Cognition and self-awareness in cetaceans: a review of ethical implications for conservation laws at the above meeting.”

November 2013

Prof. Lee Talbot was presented with the 2013 Benton H. Box Award for recognition as a teacher “who by precept and example inspires in students the quest for knowledge and encourages curriculum innovation to inculcate an environmental ethic as the rule of conduct” at a ceremony at Clemson University. Clemson describes the awards program as: “Named in honor of the seventh Director of the National Park Service, the Hartzog award program at Clemson honors world-renowned conservation leaders.

October 2013

Prof. E. Chris Parsons moderated the session “Conservation: ‘You keep using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means'” and ESP graduate student Samantha Oester moderated the session “10 minutes ’til go time: what you need to know when talking to reporters” at the ScienceOnline Oceans conference, October 11-12, Miami, FL. Prof. Chris Parsons was also on the meeting’s Board of Advisors.

July 2013

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was Vice Chair and Program Chair for the Scientific Program Committee at the 26th International Congress for Conservation Biology (ICCB), July 21-25, Baltimore, MD.

Prof. Allison M. Macfarlane was sworn in to a full five-year term on the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and has been designated by President Obama to continue serving as the agency chairman.

June 2013

Prof. E. Chris Parsons was appointed a national delegate for the U.K. as well as co-chair of the Environmental Concerns Sub-Committee during the International Whaling Commission Scientific Committee meeting held in Jeju Island, Republic of Korea.